Mission, Administration and Staff

Mission

Providing opportunities to explore, learn, create and connect.

Vision

Empowered and engaged individuals for a more inclusive and connected Baltimore County community.

We Value

  • Our customers and communities
  • Equal access and intellectual freedom
  • Flexibility and collaboration
  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Continuous improvement

Statement on Race and Social Equity

Baltimore County Public Library is one of 177 public libraries across North America that has signed the Urban Libraries Council’s Statement on Race and Social Equity, which serves as a baseline for libraries to build policies and actions that make their communities more inclusive and just. We are committed to achieving racial and social equity by contributing to a more just society in which all community members can realize their full potential. Our libraries can help achieve true and sustained equity through an intentional, systemic and transformative library-community partnership. Read the full statement to learn more.

Publications

Welcome Guide

Download and read our Welcome Guide (PDF), which highlights our resources and provides you with information on how to take advantage of every opportunity at the Baltimore County Public Library. We have offerings for all ages to explore, learn, create and connect.

Strategic Plan

Reports

Administration

Administrative Offices
320 York Road
Towson, Maryland 21204

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Phone: 410-887-6100
Fax: 410-887-6103
TTY through Maryland Relay

Board of Library Trustees

Phone: 410-887-6100
Fax: 410-887-6103

The Board’s responsibilities include:

  • Appointment of the library director to manage day-to-day operations of the library system
  • Policy formulation. Working with the director and staff, the Board develops policies to ensure that the library system is sound and responds to the needs of the public. Major policy areas include personnel, collection development, public service planning, budgeting and use of technology

Learn more about the Board of Library Trustees.

Director

Vacant
Email: Director@bcpl.net
Phone: 410-887-6121

  • Has overall responsibility for the management of the library system and strategic planning, serves as liaison to the County and state government, and is accountable to the Board of Library Trustees
  • Oversees Fiscal Services, Human Resources, Planning, Projects and Data, and Technology Support departments

Assistant Directors

James Cooke
Phone: 410-887-6121
Email: ADCooke@bcpl.net

Natalie Edington
Phone: 410-887-6121
Email: ADEdington@bcpl.net

Adult and Community Engagement

Julie Brophy
Phone: 410-887-3285
Email: jbrophy@bcpl.net

Collection Development

Jamie Watson
Phone: 410-887-6137
Email: jwatson@bcpl.net

Customer Support Services

Deb Brothers
Phone: 410-887-7915
Email: dlbrothers@bcpl.net

Interlibrary Loan

Phone: 410-887-6110
Email: illmail@bcpl.net

Customer Accounts

Phone: 410-887-6181
Email: customeraccounts@bcpl.net

Meeting Room Bookings

Phone: 410-887-6109
Email: meetingrooms@bcpl.net

Facilities Services and Facilities Management

Purnell Sterrett
Phone: 410-887-6136 or 410-887-6100
Email: psterrett@bcpl.net

Fiscal Services

Helen Rowe
Phone: 410-887-6170
Email: hrowe@bcpl.net

Human Resources

Mary Wilson
Phone: 410-887-6177
Email: mjwilson@bcpl.net

Marketing and Development

Linda Frederick
Phone: 410-887-6196
Email: lfrederick@bcpl.net

Planning, Projects and Data

Emily Gamertsfelder
Phone: 410-887-2336
Email: egamertsfelder@bcpl.net

Purchasing

Dave Otto
Phone: 410-887-6155
Email: tdotto@bcpl.net

Security

Mike Engle
Phone: 410-887-6150
Email: mengle@bcpl.net

Technical Services

Jody Sharp
Phone: 410-887-8630
Email: jsharp@bcpl.net

Virtual and Media Services

Liz Sundermann
Phone: 410-887-6132
Email: lsundermann@bcpl.net

Media Creation

Carl Birkmeyer
Phone: 410-887-2082
Email: cbirkmey@bcpl.net

Youth and Family Engagement

Conni L. Strittmatter
Phone: 410-887-0517
Email: cstrittmatter@bcpl.net